Bula from Fiji!

Well, I made it here safe and sound.  This placereally is amazing and I haven’t even left the resort I’m staying at.  We’ve had some rain, but luckily the weather has been nice for most of it.  Seriously, my day yesterday consisted of laying on the beach, going in the water, laying on the beach, swimming in the pool, wash, rinse, repeat…

I participated in some Kava drinking last night.  It’s a drink made from crushing up the roots of the kava plant, mixing with water and drinking.  Your options for drinking came in the forms of low-tide, medium-tide, high-tide or tsunami.  When they listed off my options, I can’t say I understood what they said, and I just asked for whatever the last one they said was.  Needless to say, I couldn’t feel my tongue afterwards.  It was neat though to sit around, listen to music, bs with the people next to you and just enjoy in the moment.

Starting tomorrow I’ll actually get out and start exploring the main island of Veti Levu, which is what I’m on now.  Eventually I’ll do some island hopping on the Mamanuca and Yasawa groups, before heading to Oz on the 15th. 

For now, not much else to report.  I think I hear a beach calling my name again, so I think I’m going to pay it a visit.

p.s…how was February 2nd?? I didn’t get one.  I went strait from the 1st to the 3rd.  I feel a bit cheated in not getting to enjoy that day.  Hope you guys did instead!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiji

Leave a Reply

