Well I’m officially Down Under!

After 12 relaxing, fun-filled days of laying on various beaches around Fiji, I have made it to Australia.  I got in around 10 o’clock local time last night.  It took a bit to get through the customs line, but customs was a breeze to get through.  They made no comments on me being there for a year, no questions about wether I have enough money to live on or a return ticket home for that matter. 

While it’s great to be here, I’m excited for the chance to hang out with my old friend Dana.  It’s been 12 years since we’ve seen each other.  She was there waiting for me when I got out of customs.  I had a nice car ride with her and her mum to her house.  This morning I met her husband Abe and can’t wait to meet her little girl Amalie…on pictures alone she’s one of the cutest kids in the world.

I only slept for about 5 hours last night, I guess I’m still on Fiji time (only 2 hours ahead, but I’ve been used to waking up around 6:30 the past few mornings). 

In other news, Fiji was amazing.  I had such a great time.  I spent most of the trip island hopping the Yasawa Islands.  Final count saw me stay at 4 different resorts on 4 islands over the course of 7 nights/8 days.  I met some really great people that I look forward to keeping in touch with. 

Well, time to start my day…or at least get off the couch!  Missing everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under From Up North to Down Under

3 responses to “Well I’m officially Down Under!

  1. Alyce Dahlin

    Now the fun begins for a year. Glad you got to Australia and customs safely. Hope you are able to find some work to do. Have fun.

    Alyce

  2. Becky

    I’m glad you made it! Check Facebook email to see why we failed to hook up on skype for bookclub! The new book is posted. Let me know if you want to discuss Lonely Polygamist and I’ll turn my chat on when you let me know a time.

  3. Shirley R. Bubolz

    Hope all is good wil you. Not much new up here. We are hopeing the weather holds as we will be getting ready for Maple Syrup. Maybe next week we will tap the trees.
    Have been busy sewing on a quilt for next Christmas gifts for our grand-daughters. We are going to take a trip to Nashville in May and fall maybe out East, of course in the USA. Ha Ha.

    Take Care, Shirl

Leave a Reply

