Chasing the Sun

So a little background info.  Australia has this great website called Gumtree.  You can find anything from jobs (which I have) to rideshares (which I have).  I put up a post just stating that I wanted to take a roadtrip anywhere from Melbourne after a certain date.  So Marjan, a German girl with a car, responded that she wanted to roadtrip up the East Coast, cut over to Alice Springs and then back down the Stuart Highway.  Sounded great, let’s do it…and boy have we.

So right now I’m in Airlie Beach, just south of Townsville in Queensland.  We left Melbourne on May 9th, got halfway to Sydney and opted to spend the night sleeping in the car atop some mountains in freezing weather.  We spent a couple of days in Sydney before we ended up in Port MacQuarie.  Quaint little town, rode some camels on the beach (little known fact:  Australia has 1.7 million wild camels) and explored a koala hospital (my first sighting of the animals).  Then we headed north where we stopped off in Coff’s Harbour.  Met some cool people and took pictures of the famous “Big Banana.”  A quick stop off in Byron Bay, saw us in Brisbane for a couple of days.  I can’t say I really saw the city. Unless a couple of bars with some interesting foreigners counts.  I spent most of that Sunday playing poker for 4 hours.  Made it to the final 2 out of 40.  The other finalist and I opted to split the $50 pot and call it a night, as it was getting ridiculous counting out chips, winning every other hand, blah,blah, blah…

From Brisbane we decided to head to Hervey Bay and get into a tour for a few days in Fraser Island (separate post and pics to come).  After Fraser, we added 3 more girls to our car and headed to Airlie Beach, where I’m currently at.   We made a stop off in Emu Park and went to an awesome Crocodile Farm.  Marjan and I decided it was best to stick around Airlie Beach for a few days rather than head any further north.  We’re going to need some time to relax before we hit up the Outback and make our way back south.  We estimate it should take about 10 days to get from Townsville to Adelaide.  We plan to go from Townsville–Mt. Isa–Tennent Creek–Alice Springs–Uluru–Coober Pedy–Adelaide.  Long story short:  a lot of driving.

Until then, I will be heading out to explore the Whitsunday Islands for the next 3 days/3 nights.  Kat, one of the girls I met on Fraser Island, and I will be boarding the Whitsunday Magic, the most luxurious of boats to go on.  I’m pretty stoked for the free scuba dive, snorkelling and gourmet meals.

1 Comment

Filed under From Up North to Down Under

One response to “Chasing the Sun

  1. Shirley R. Bubolz

    Greetings from Up North in Wiscnsin. Everything here is about the same. We have had allot of rain the past week.
    You sure are the traveling person. Just be careful.
    This weekend of the 4th, Molly is coming up with her boy friend, I think. Our son is on his way home from Minnesota from a camping trip with the family. Nothing changed at Maiden Lake. Haven’t been going out as much as we have really been busy. Me with staining & varnishing. Today I finished the deck so am sitting on my behind right now.
    I’m keeping Arnie busy at building cabinets in our closet.
    How is Australia? That would be an intriging place to visit. In August we are going to take a trip East, Vermont, Mass. etc. Never been East.

    Well need to run. Take care and enjoy.
    Shirley & Arnie

Leave a Reply

